Apr | 19
(7)
Run Happy Inspiration, Running Tips

Finding Zen and Running Responsibly

Brooks team member Stacey shares how she found her passion for working in eco-focused organization

Brooks team member Stacey shares how she found her passion for working in an eco-focused organization

A lot of people ask me how I got into my current field of work at Brooks.  What I tell them is that many moons ago I rebooted my career, found a great company, and fell into a new passion–corporate responsibility.

Read about Brooks’ Running Responsibly Program.

In May 1997 I graduated from Boston University with a Bachelors in business administration with a focus on accounting.  Over the next eight years my career was on fire as I worked my way up the ladder at various large corporations and eventually earned  a seat on my company’s executive team.  There was one thing missing from my career:  passion.  At the end of each work day, I was exhausted.

To promote our corporate responsibility report, Brooks developed a limited edition of shoes made entirely of recycled materials

To promote our corporate responsibility report, Brooks developed a limited edition of shoes made entirely of recycled materials

In the spring of 2004 I looked in the mirror and asked myself “Do I want to be doing this job at 40?”  That is when I decided it was time to make a change.  Soon after, I quit my job, traveled around the world and embarked on a soul searching journey.  The experience was eye opening.

In a Zen-like moment I realized that it was time that I aligned myself with a company that shares the same passions and values that I do.  I wanted to work for a company that inspired me, and that lived and breathed honesty, integrity, and fun.  That is when I found Brooks.  After working for various large, stale and cultureless corporations, Brooks was not only a breath of fresh air, but also a culture explosion.  The people were happy, active, energetic and fun. I was in heaven!